Clearing your history online is an important part of keeping yourself safe.
There are options to delete your browser history. For example, if you do not want to delete all your history, it is possible to only delete some of the history (last hour, today, today and yesterday or all history). This is helpful to know because if you delete all your history, the abuser may be suspicious as to why there is no history on the browser. In addition, it may delete saved passwords, so it is important to make sure you have all your passwords written down in a safe place. Saving your passwords on the computer can be dangerous as the abuser may be able to access private accounts that they should not, such as banking information, and your social media accounts.
There is also the option on your phone, tablet and computer to search thing’s on the internet in ‘private’ or ‘incognito’ mode so that your history will not be tracked.
We encourage that if you are living with your abuser, and are searching for resources to either leave, or to help yourself stay safe, to delete your most recent history or search in ‘private’ or ‘incognito’ mode.